Cloudlands should be higher up

Home Forums MeseCraft Discussion Suggestions Cloudlands should be higher up

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    miru
    Participant

I started playing about a month ago on a MeseCraft server (not Mesecraft.com), and noticed strange islands in the sky.

I LOVE sky islands, so I built up there and started building my base.

Later on, I found the Tome of Portals, and built a Nether- and then a Portalstone Portal, only to find that I already was on the cloudlands the Portalstone Portal would have teleported me to.

I think that broke immersion a little. I digged deeper into it and found out that the cloudlands mod can be configured to have a higher spawn rate, which I think should be added up closer to 400 or 500.

Currently, it is IMO too easy to accidentally discover them in the very beginning when they should be later game.

komodo
    Participant

Not a bad suggestion. I think that makes sense. Maybe we can move them up higher.

senordmt
    Participant

400-500 is plenty high already, but honestly, when our upper limits are over 30k nodes up, even that seems very low.

brokencircle
    Participant

I agree they should be up higher.

andyiii
    Participant

Since vacuum starts at 1K (atm), we can’t go too high. I would put them up around 700 or so, to prevent them from being in sight range of the ground.

mesecraft
    Keymaster

@miru @senordmt @andyiii @brokencircle

OK, I’ve moved cloudlands biomes to +500 altitude with a +/-  100 variance. Someone should test this out with cloudland portals!

mesecraft
    Keymaster

had a crash today after updating cloudlands and testing. posting to save it:

AsyncErr: Lua: Runtime error from mod ‘cloudlands’ in callback environment_OnGenerated(): ….minetest/games/MeseCraft/mods/MTG/default/functions.lua:731: attempt to call method ‘is_player’ (a nil value)
    stack traceback: