In-Game, and Out of Game Documentation

Home Forums MeseCraft Discussion Guides In-Game, and Out of Game Documentation

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    exevirus
    Participant

Hello,

I’m relatively new to the MeseCraft community, and am the creator of Little Lady and Labyrinth (ContentDB games), and on the discord moderation team for Minetest. I have interviewed MisterE before, and currently working on a retail Minetest project, where Minetest is packaged into a USB, given a guide, poster, and stickers, and then sold for like $12-15 in local game shops and similar.

Currently, I’ve been hunting for a solid mod-soup MTG based game/ researching whether to make one myself, and have found MeseCraft to be close enough to what I was hunting for (the first recommended game in the box, followed by about 7-10 others). Because my project is focused on very new players to minetest in general, most of the project revolves around guides and documentation at the moment. Has there been a serious effort yet to document the game in detail? What about in-game documentation?

Finally, AGPL is an hard to comply with licensing due to actual legal implications requiring that a connecting player be sent the actual mods and server code at that instant, not redirected to a git repo with the codebase… I’m wondering why not target just plain old GPLv3, which is essentially how this game distribution is being treated on official servers?

mesecraft
    Keymaster

Welcome to MeseCraft. Your initial post has been approved and subsequent posts will automatically go through without approval. 🙂

komodo
    Participant

Hi @exevirus,

First off, thanks for the words of encouragement about the game. It took some time and learning to get it to this point and I started off from scratch from MTG. I appreciate that you can also see the importance and vision of a high-quality MT game that meets the demands of players.